Free & localNo paid placement.No lead fees.No sales calls.Verified with the owners.
Southport, Merseyside

Aesthetics and skin clinics in Southport

28 listed24 based in Southport4 covering from nearby1 verified by owner27 being checked

Verified owners first, then alphabetical. Nobody pays to be here and nobody can pay to move up. Last updated 29 Sept 2026.

Injectable treatments are for over-18s only by law. Anti-wrinkle injections are a prescription-only medicine: a prescriber must consult you first. This page lists clinics; it is not medical advice, and nothing here is an advertisement for a prescription medicine.

Showing 3 of 28. Show all

Dr Hennessy Cosmetic Clinic

Listed from public records

Based in Birkdale · covers Southport · Premises

Dentist-led clinic run by Dr Stephen Hennessy, treating in Southport from Pure Birkdale on Liverpool Road: anti-wrinkle and filler treatments including nose and tear trough, skin boosters and needling, with a free consultation. Save Face accredited since 2020, the only Southport business on either practitioner register when we checked.

anti-wrinkle injections (prescription-only)dermal fillerslip fillerskin boosters and polynucleotides+3 more

Listed from public records · details reviewed against the business's own page today

Secrets Medical

Listed from public records

Based in Birkdale · covers Southport · Premises

Dental and medical centre on Liverpool Road, Birkdale, with a laser and skin department: laser hair removal, laser for veins, pigment and scars, microneedling, peels and skin boosters, with a free consultation. Contact details not yet confirmed from its own site.

laser hair removallaser skin and vein treatmentsmicroneedlingchemical peels+3 more

Listed from public records · no checks yet — why?

The Lulworth Clinic

Listed from public records

Based in Birkdale · covers Southport · Premises

Nurse-led clinic on Lulworth Road, Birkdale, led by Angela Kerr, a registered nurse and independent prescriber in its own words: anti-wrinkle and filler treatments, peels and skin needling, plus IPL hair removal, laser tattoo removal and CO2 laser resurfacing. Books online. Its site claims Save Face accreditation; the register did not show it when we checked.

anti-wrinkle injections (prescription-only)dermal fillerslip fillerchemical peels+6 more

Listed from public records · details reviewed against the business's own page today

There are 28 aesthetics and skin clinics on this page for Southport, Merseyside, including 4 that cover it from nearby. 1 is verified by its owner. This list is free to be on and nobody pays to move up. It covers the aesthetics, injectables, laser and skin clinics with a door in Southport, Birkdale, Ainsdale, Churchtown and Banks, plus home-based practitioners shown by area, and the nearest clinics in Ormskirk, Scarisbrick and Waterloo flagged as nearby. Every card shows what the business itself states about who treats you, who prescribes, insurance and registers, and we have checked every name against the two practitioner registers accredited by the Professional Standards Authority. Where a card says "not stated" that is the honest answer for now; owners can add it in a minute. One thing we found: of twenty businesses injecting in Southport, one is on either register.

How to choose an aesthetics clinic in Southport

Ask five questions before price, and expect straight answers. Who will treat me, and what is their profession? Who prescribes, if the treatment is prescription-only? Are you insured, and with whom? Are you on a register I can check? What happens if something goes wrong tonight? The cards on this page show what each business says on its own site for each of those. A card full of "not stated" is not an accusation; it means the answer is not on their site, so ask it at the consultation and see how they react.

The profession matters more than the word "advanced". A registered nurse, doctor or dentist has a professional regulator (NMC, GMC, GDC) that can strike them off; a beauty-trained practitioner has training certificates and, at best, a voluntary register. Both can be excellent. The difference is what you can check and who you can complain to. Four Southport clinics are nurse-led with the nurse's registration stated; four are doctor or dentist-led; at least six are non-medical by their own wording.

Anti-wrinkle injections need a prescriber. The toxin is a prescription-only medicine, and a prescriber (a doctor, dentist, nurse prescriber or pharmacist prescriber) has to consult you before it can be supplied for you. A non-medical practitioner can inject under a prescriber's direction, and the honest ones say so and name the prescriber. On this page nobody names one; one clinic says the details are "available upon request". Ask.

Fillers are different and, for now, unregulated as products, which is why the practitioner is the whole question. Ask which product, whether they hold the dissolving agent for emergencies, and whether they have complications training. For laser and IPL, ask what device it is, whether you get a patch test, and what training the operator holds: there is no laser licence in England, so those three answers are all you get.

Take the consultation seriously and take a day. The NHS says you should be offered a cooling-off period after any consultation, and that you should be cautious about anything you found on social media. A free consultation with no pressure to book on the day is the norm among the better clinics here.

Useful to know in Southport

  • Under-18s: it is a criminal offence in England to give botulinum toxin, or a cosmetic injection of filler, to anyone under 18, whatever a parent says. The Act's words: "It is an offence for a person to administer, in England, to another person … botulinum toxin, or … a subcutaneous, submucous or intradermal injection of a filler for a cosmetic purpose, where A is under the age of 18." In force since 1 October 2021. Source: Botulinum Toxin and Cosmetic Fillers (Children) Act 2021, s.1
  • Prescription-only: the MHRA states that "Botulinum toxin is a prescription-only medicine and should only be sold or supplied in accordance with a prescription given by an appropriate prescriber." That is why this page never names the brand or prints a price for it: the advertising code (CAP 12.12) says "Prescription-only medicines or prescription-only medical treatments may not be advertised to the public." A clinic that advertises it by brand with a price is breaking that code. Source: MHRA, 30 Aug 2025; CAP Code rule 12.12
  • Two voluntary registers are accredited by the Professional Standards Authority, whose programme "helps to protect the public and improve confidence in health and social care practitioners that are not regulated by law". Save Face "operates a register for doctors, nurses and dentists who provide non-surgical cosmetic treatments"; the JCCP register also admits non-medical practitioners. We searched both for Southport on 29 September 2026: one Southport business is on Save Face (a dentist-led clinic), and no Southport address appears on the JCCP register. One clinic's website claims Save Face accreditation that the register does not show; the card shows what the register says. Source: Professional Standards Authority, accredited registers
  • Licensing is coming, but is not here. The Health and Care Act 2022 gives the Secretary of State power to make regulations "for the purposes of reducing the risk of harm to the health or safety of members of the public", and the government's August 2025 response proposes a local-authority licensing scheme in which, for amber-tier procedures, "non-healthcare professionals must be licensed and have relevant oversight by a named regulated healthcare professional" and red-tier procedures "should only be performed by suitably qualified and regulated healthcare professionals". No regulations have been made and no start date exists. When a licence exists, this page will show who holds one. Source: DHSC consultation response, 7 Aug 2025
  • Sefton Council registers premises and people for "acupuncture, cosmetic piercing, semi-permanent skin-colouring, electrolysis or tattooing". That covers the semi-permanent make-up and electrolysis some clinics here offer; it does not cover injectables, laser or IPL, for which there is no local licence. Most aesthetics is also outside CQC registration: "subcutaneous injections to enhance appearance" are out of its scope, so a clinic not being CQC-registered is not a mark against it. Source: Sefton Council registration; CQC scope of registration
  • The NHS's advice before any cosmetic procedure: check whether the practitioner is on a voluntary register accredited by the Professional Standards Authority, ask what qualifications and training they have, expect to be offered a cooling-off period after the consultation, and "take extra care to research any procedures or clinics you find on social media". Source: NHS, before you have a cosmetic procedure

Laser and IPL

About ten businesses on this page offer laser or IPL for hair removal, tattoo removal, pigmentation, veins or skin resurfacing, from nurse-led clinics to a beauty salon in Churchtown with an IPL machine and a laser room in a shared studio on Cambridge Road. There is no laser licence in England; the treatments were taken out of CQC regulation in 2010. So the questions are the device (IPL is not laser, and the card says which where the business does), a patch test before the first session, and the operator's training. Nobody on the page states a laser safety qualification on their site. Use the Laser filter.

Nearby: Ormskirk, Scarisbrick and Waterloo

Several clinics outside the town rank for Southport searches because they run Southport pages: a nurse-led clinic with a full laser suite in Ormskirk, a GP-led clinic on the Scarisbrick side of Southport Road, a dentist working from Scarisbrick, and a surgeon-led clinic in Waterloo. They are on this page flagged as nearby, with their real address. National chains have no branch in Southport.

What it costs locally

Printed on Southport clinics' own sites in September 2026, for treatments that can be advertised: dermal filler from about £120 for half a millilitre and £250 for a millilitre; lip filler from £130 to £169 for half a millilitre; skin boosters such as Profhilo from £250 a session; vitamin injections from £30; consultations free at most clinics and £75 at one. Prices for anti-wrinkle injections are not printed on this page because they are a prescription-only medicine; clinics quote them at consultation.

Frequently asked questions

Who is allowed to do aesthetic injections?

In England today, anyone over 18 with the right kit, which is the problem the licensing scheme is meant to fix. What you can check is their profession (nurse, doctor, dentist, or beauty-trained), whether they are on the Save Face or JCCP register, who prescribes for them, and their insurance. The cards show what each business states.

Do I need to see a prescriber for anti-wrinkle injections?

Yes. The toxin is a prescription-only medicine. A prescriber has to consult you before it can be supplied for you; a non-prescriber can then inject under their direction. Ask who the prescriber is and whether you will see them. If the answer is vague, go elsewhere.

Is there a licence I can check?

Not yet. A licensing scheme for non-surgical cosmetic procedures is proposed for England and has no start date. The checks that exist now are the professional registers (NMC, GMC, GDC) and the two voluntary registers, Save Face and JCCP. This page checks the last two for you.

What do Save Face and JCCP mean?

Both are voluntary registers accredited by the Professional Standards Authority, which means the register has been assessed, not the practitioner licensed. Save Face lists doctors, nurses and dentists; JCCP also lists trained non-medical practitioners. Membership shows a business has put itself up for checking. Absence proves nothing either way.

What if something goes wrong after a treatment?

Ask before you book what the emergency arrangement is: a number to ring that evening, and for fillers whether they hold the dissolving agent and have complications training. One clinic on this page states an emergency line. If you have an urgent problem and cannot reach the practitioner, use NHS 111.

Will I be asked for ID?

You should be if you look under 25, because injecting anyone under 18 is a criminal offence. Only one Southport business states 18+ on a public page. It is the law regardless.

Is laser hair removal regulated?

No. There is no laser licence in England and laser treatments are outside CQC. Ask what the device is, whether you get a patch test, and what training the operator holds. Sefton's own registration scheme covers electrolysis but not laser or IPL.

What should a consultation include?

A face-to-face conversation about what you want and your medical history, the product to be used, the risks, the price, and time to think. The NHS says you should be offered a cooling-off period after any consultation. Most clinics here offer the consultation free.

Related

Is your business missing? Listings are free, there is no paid placement and nobody will call you to sell anything. Add your business and you'll hear back within 48 hours.

Already listed? Open your listing and choose Verify this listing.